More poetry

July 15, 2016 § Leave a comment

Dedicated to, and about, one of my precious regulars with whom conversation is delightfully endless.

I can see in you, J, that you see me as a woman worthy of poetry, prose, and theatre, that you long to write me into your eventual magnum opus. I know that you haven’t created anything yet that may satisfy you, but let me just say in what may seem to be the most self-absorbed way possible, that I hope to be the one to inspire you to write. I long to write but most of all, I long to be written about, glorified like a Muse to some great artist—and I know you have it in you, J, for your strictly refined taste will not betray us. I can fully entrust my figurative self to you, though I suppose you would like the literal one, too. Sadly, my path and yours have not intertwined in that manner, but I think they can still be significant to one another. Write about me, J, I can just see a novel in your name featuring some odd girl oddly like me…

You think you’re too old, J, think again
Don’t know how many times I have to say it
Maybe ten
Thousand, but I know it’ll be worth it when
You actually get down to it and pick up the pen.

Come on, J, give me a novel,loldance2
I don’t want any dedication,
I just ask to be your model!

You think you’re too old, J, washed out
I know the feeling and I’m only about
Twenty-four
Anyway, I can imagine it then cause I know it now
And it sucks, J, I know, but that’s why you need me around

Hey, J, look at this
Am I gonna mention a familiar name?
Well, yeah, I am. Bukowski
He started poetry at 35
And novels at 50
All the women came to him for his newfound glory
Imagine how old he musta been from years of alcoholism
And shame.

Come on, J, give me a novel,
I don’t want any dedication,
Just a bit of characterisation.

You think you’re too old, J? Washed out?
Isn’t angst what writing’s all about?
Give me an “T”, J, an “H”,
Finally an “E” and there’s your first word
You do the rest, that’s all you deserve

You’ve been a naughty boy, you know
Keeping such fresh talent in the freezer
For such a very long time.
Get it out of there, my darling geezer
Pour out its contents with me between the lines

You think you’re too old, J, think again
Don’t know how many times I have to say it
Maybe ten
Thousand, but I know it’ll be worth it when
You actually get down to it and pick up the pen.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More poetry at FIRST WORLD BABY.

meta

